Writing The Breakout Novel

I’ve been tightening the screws on myself and starting on the novel project that I’ve been kicking around for a while. Usually, when I write longer stories, I start out with a three sentence premise, and expand on that. But this time I drew up empty. I decided to just write out the outline and see what came out. I ended up with a ten page prose outline that I thought worked well.

However, I wanted something more. I remembered how Donald Maass wrote a book that seemed to strike  a tone with writers a while back. It’s called “Writing The Breakout Novel” and I thought I’d give it a chance. So far it’s good. I’ve read half of the book in the week that I’ve had it and run through the premise and stakeholder activities and I have started on the exercises in the workbook.

I have to say that I’m getting a stronger feel for the story and the characters, but I’m still behind in actual scene construction. That will come soon enough. Overall I like the direction that he gives out. But the test will be in the product.

About daemankale

I've been writing off and on for twenty years. I primarily enjoy fantasy and science fiction, but I also enjoy the occasional thriller or mystery. I've lived in Hawaii, Utah, Colorado and Thailand. In the end, I believe it's a commitment to write, not chasing after a trend or blind luck that creates success.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

